Our Governing Body

The Governing Body plays an important part in the life of our school. The Governors are responsible for the appointment of staff, management of the school, maintenance of the building, ensuring our high standards are maintained and a range of other matters which enable the school to function smoothly. All Governors are members of either the Resources Committee or the Curriculum Committee.

Governors formally visit school once a term and report back to the Governors’ termly meeting. Minutes of Governors’ meetings are available in school for inspection by parents.

Governors complete an annual Register of Pecuniary Interests.  The 2016-17 Register indicated that no members of the Governing Body have any interests which would conflict with the interests of the school or Governing Body.

Download the 2017-2018 register

School Governors

  • Community Governor - Mr George Dance – Chairperson
  • LEA Governor - Mrs Caroline Tyser
  • LEA Governor - Mrs Barbara Reed
  • Parent Governor - Mrs Lynsey Jardine
  • Parent Governor - Mr Brian Bowden
  • Parent Governor - Mrs. Laura Catterall
  • Community Governor - Revd. Matthew Knox
  • Parent Governor - Mr. Phil Rogers - Vice Chairperson
  • Headteacher Governor - Mrs Helen Harrison
  • Teacher Governor - Mrs. Bryony Haggerstone


12th. October 2015

Present:  Brian Bowden, George Dance, Gemma Dodds, Helen Harrison, Lynsey Jardine, Matthew Knox, Philip Rogers, Barbara Hubbard.

Apologies: Caroline Tyser, Barbara Reed

22nd. February 2016

Present: Helen Harrison, George Dance, Caroline Tyser, Lynsey Jardine, Phil Rogers, Matthew Knox

Apologies Brian Bowden, Barbara Reed, Gemma Dodds

16th. May 2016

Present: George Dance, Gemma Dodds, Helen Harrison, Phil Rogers, Barbara Reed, Lynsey Jardine, Caroline Tyser, Brain Bowden, Matthew Knox.

Apologies None.

7th. November 2016

Present:  George Dance, Caroline Tyser, Barbara Reed, Brian Bowden, Matthew Knox, Phil Rogers,  Helen Harrison,  Bryony Haggerstone.

Apologies: Mrs. Gemma Dodds, Mrs. Lynsey Jardine

6th. February 2016

Present: George Dance, Barbara Reed, Brian Bowden, Matthew Knox, Phil Rogers, Helen Harrison, Bryony Haggerstone, Gemma Dodds

Apologies:Caroline Tyser, Lynsey Jardine

8th. May 2017

George Dance, Brain Bowden, Matthew Knox, Phil Rogers, Helen Harrison, Bryony Haggerstone, Caroline Tyser

Apologies: Barbara Reed, Lynsey Jardine, Gemma Dodds


13th. November 2017


George Dance, Helen Harrison, Matthew Knox, Caroline Tyser, Barbara Reed, Lynsey Jardine, Brian Bowden, Phil Rogers, Bryony Haggerstone, Laura Catterrall

5th. February 2018


George Dance, Helen Harrison, Caroline Tyser, Barbara Reed, Phil Rogers, Bryony Haggerstone, Laura Catterall


Matthew Knox, Lynsey Jardine, Brian Bowden, Jill Nottingham



Part of Our Community

The school enjoys close links with our local community, including organisations such as local churches, the Rotary Club and local charities. Within our grounds, and managed by the school, is Scremerston Community Building.

This provides a home for Lucky Ducks independent Pre-School for children aged 2½ - 4 years.There is also a Community Room which is used by our Parents and Toddlers group, by adult and family learning courses and for meetings of groups such as the Parish Council.

Find Us

Click on the map to get directions:

Scremerston First School
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland, TD15 2RB

School Prospectus

Please download our full 2015 / 2016 school prospectus by clicking on the picture below.